No person is legally allowed to sell or supply liquor without a valid permit. It’s illegal in all countries, especially in the United States. The individual or corporation that is making this attempt is subjected to a severe law offense. Penalties can be one year in jail and additionally, they need to pay a $2500 fine, and/or to perform 100 hours of community service.
In order to sell beer, wine or any type of alcohol in Florida, it’s mandatory to obtain a liquor license from the Florida Division of Alcoholic Beverages. Even if you organize a special event or exhibitions, the state law emphasis on Temporary Permit or Special Sales License for the sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages.
Obtaining a Temporary Liquor License
A special sales license may also be obtained by the use of the 1-3 days permit application. You can obtain the application online. You no longer required to visit the liquor license division in order to get the application. Instead, you can visit the myfloridalicense website and download your required application. You can either download the application offline, fill the required fields, and finally upload to the site, or you can even fill the details directly on the website. As a matter of fact, this is pretty straightforward and can be done instantaneously.
How to fill the temporary liquor license
Obtaining a Special Event Alcoholic Beverage Licenses in Florida is a cumbersome process and this license category allows a bona fide non-profit civic organization to sell alcoholic beverages for special events held on the premises of Florida. Moreover, this permit is applicable only in Florida dry countries and not in other places.
So, here’s how you fill the license application:
Go to the appropriate license website and select the update/apply license tab. In the tab, you will see a list of options. From those options, if you’re specific about a particular alcoholic beverage, for example, wine, you can choose the wine option. However, when your choice is a mixture of all types of alcoholic beverages such as wine, beer, and liquor, then you need to choose Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco.
Since you’re applying for temporary reasons, you need to select the limited permits. However, when you’re looking for a long-term or permanent license for your establishment, then you will be required to choose other options. Finally, click how many days you will need the permit.
You can have up to three days. So choose either one, two or three depending on your requirement. After filling the form, you need to pay a certain fee for the processing to the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco. Then you’re done with the license application. If you’re eligible to obtain a Special Event Alcoholic Beverage Licenses in Florida, you will get the permit from the zonal board.
Although the licensing process is pretty daunting, under Florida law, it’s illegal to sell alcoholic beverages without a license, so it’s best to go through the procedure in order to not have any repercussions in the future.